Social Studies Program

The Social Studies Program integrates content, concepts, and skill learning within small, heterogeneous groups through a structured, developmental course of study. Students gain social studies knowledge through multisensory direct instruction. The primary purpose of the program is to teach students a wide range of skills that will enable them to become confident, informed citizens who will succeed in a mainstream educational setting.

Embedded within each unit of study are the five strands of social studies: geography, government, economics, history, and culture. Lessons serve both content goals as well as providing a vehicle for the application of Social Studies skills. Students are nurtured to become responsible citizens and contributors to our democratic society.

Social Studies Curriculum By Grade

Grades 1 & 2

Grades 1 & 2 study characteristics of rural, urban, and suburban communities, and varied community groups.

Grade 3

Grade 3 classes study the seven continents and major countries such as the United States, Mexico, Canada, South Africa, Italy, China, and Australia.

Grade 4

Grade 4 focuses on American history through the lens of New York State.

Grade 5

Grade 5 classes study American history from the Early Colonial Period through the Civil War.

Grade 6

Grade 6 focuses on Ancient Civilizations, World Religions, and the Middle Ages.

Grade 7

Grade 7 classes study American history from Jamestown through the Civil War.

Grade 8

Grade 8 classes study American history from the post Civil War-era to the modern day.

Grade 9

Grade 9 is the first year of a two year New York State Regents course in Global History and Geography covering Ancient Civilizations to the Middle Ages.